W.O.M.E.N. in America Blog

This blog is dedicated to highlighting topics related to and supportive of professional development for women.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that has been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Team Blogs
    Team Blogs Find your favorite team blogs here.
  • Archives
    Archives Contains a list of blog posts that were created previously.
  • Login

Joan Amble Elected into FEI 2015 Hall of Fame

Posted by on in Member News
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 2407
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print


Five financial executives to receive distinguished honor at 10th Anniversary Gala on November 16th


Morristown, N.J. – June 3, 2015 – Financial Executives International (FEI), the association of choice for CFOs and other senior-level finance executives, today announced the selection of five new members to the FEI Hall of Fame: Fred A. Allardyce, Joan Lordi Amble, Barbara Hackman Franklin, Bryan R. Roub and P. Norman Roy. These five professionals will receive formal induction into the FEI Hall of Fame on November 16, 2015, during a gala to be held in their honor at Gotham Hall in New York City. This gala marks FEI Hall of Fame’s 10th year recognizing exceptional achievement in the finance profession.


FEI’s mission has long supported leadership, ethics and accountability in the practice of financial management. Role models play an important role in guiding and inspiring us to achieve great things in our profession. Over the past decade, FEI’s Hall of Fame gala has served as a platform to honor exemplary financial executives and showcase the tremendous contributions they’ve made to the betterment of their respective organizations and to the finance profession as a whole,” said Mitch Danaher, FEI Board Chair and Deputy Controller, General Electric Co.


We are excited to join FEI and guests in congratulating this year’s honorees for their leadership and integrity throughout their careers, and in celebrating this significant 10 year milestone for our awards ceremony, which represents some of the most accomplished financial professionals,” remarkedTaylor Hawes, Sr., GM, Corporate Finance and Services at Microsoft, and2015 Chair of the FEI Hall of Fame Selection Committee.


Our company is proud to show our continued support of the FEI Hall of Fame through our Premier Sponsorship, which we’ve held for nine consecutive years,” said Frank Brod, Corporate VP, Finance and Administration, and Chief Accounting Officer of Microsoft Corporation. “On behalf of Microsoft, I’d like to congratulate the 2015 class of inductees on receiving this well-deserved honor. Their talents and expertise make them valuable leaders for others in the finance and business communities.”


Professional career accomplishments of this year’s inductees include:


Fred A. Allardyce has been Chairman and CEO of Advanced Breath Diagnostics since March 2000. Mr. Allardyce’s professional career also includes various executive positions at American Standard Inc. including Senior VP of Medical Products, CFO, Controller and Assistant Controller. He has also served in various financial-related capacities for Joseph E. Seagram & Sons and Continental Oil Company. He is past Chairman of Financial Executives Research Foundation (FERF) and served as Chairman of FEI in 2000.


Joan Lordi Amble retired as Executive VP and Principal Accounting Officer of the American Express Company in 2011. Prior, among her many roles at the General Electric Company were Chief Accounting Officer of GE Financial Services, and later COO and CFO of GE Capital Markets.  Joan served with the Financial Accounting Standards Board earlier in her career, and currently serves as a Director of  the Brown-Forman Corporation, Sirius XM Radio, Booz Allen Hamilton and the Zurich Insurance Group. She is co- founder and Chair Emeritus of W.O.M.E.N in America, a non-profit leadership organization to support women in business. 

Barbara Hackman Franklin served as the 29th U.S. Secretary of Commerce for President George H.W. Bush. Altogether she has served five U.S. Presidents and is now president and CEO of Barbara Franklin Enterprises, advising American businesses with global interests. Ms. Franklin has been a director of 14 public and three private companies. Currently, she is a Board member of Aetna, Inc., a trustee of American Funds and a member of the International Advisory Board of Lafarge, Paris, France. She has chaired six public company audit committees.


Bryan R. Roub retired as Senior VP and CFO of Harris Corporation in 2006 after twenty-two years with the company. Prior, he served various roles at Midland-Ross Corporation, including Assistant Controller, Controller, Executive VP of Finance and CFO. He also served as a member of the audit staff of Ernst & Ernst. Currently, he is a Board Director at Fairchild Semiconductor International Inc. and Health First Health System. His service to FEI includes President of both the Northeast Ohio and Central Florida Chapters and as its national Chairman.


P. Norman Roy has held a distinguished career as a financial executive, ultimately serving as the CFO at the Barry Wright Corporation in the Boston area. During that time, Mr. Roy joined the Boston chapter of FEI and served in a variety of roles including Chapter President and finally as Chairman of FEI. In 1988, Mr. Roy joined the FEI staff as President and served with distinction over the ensuing decade.


The FEI Hall of Fame inductees were nominated by their peers and were selected by a committee comprised of corporate leaders that include current and past FEI leadership as well as previous Hall of Fame inductees. The nominees were evaluated on their exceptional attributes in categories considered essential to executive excellence, including individual and organizational performance, leadership, integrity and respect for others, innovation and community involvement.



In FEI Hall of Fame’s 10-year history, 26 financial executives from across the country have been honored. This year’s inductees will join the existing Hall of Fame members which include the 2014 class – Robert T. Blakely, Gaylen N. Larson and Robert L. Ryan– as well as Earnest J. Edwards, William U. Parfet and Frederic V. Salerno (2013), William J. Ihlanfeldt, Hans G. Storr, Robert P. Wayman and John K. Wulff (2012), Robert C. Butler, Judy C. Lewent, and David B. Rickard (2011), Karl M. von der Heyden and Ulyesse J. LeGrange (2010), Dennis D. Dammerman and Donald T. Nicolaisen (2009), Susan Schmidt Bies and John F. Ruffle (2008), Thomas E. Jones and Samuel Siegel (2007) and Dennis R. Beresford, Frank J. Borelli, F. Gorham Brigham, Jr., Robert W. Moore and Charles H. Noski (2006). 



Latest Blogs

How to Leave Your Job Gracefully
When Celebrating Women Traps Them in a Silo
Female CEOs Say Dad’s Advice Helped Them Shatter Glass Ceiling
Our Problem With Powerful Women
Joan Amble Elected into FEI 2015 Hall of Fame
cialis peopled overcoat viagra ireland overcoat tends taster Freudian